#### Staff Senate

Held on: March 9, 2004, 10:08 Held at: 8th floor John Gray Library

Lamar University Staff Senate March 9, 2004

## Senators present:

Valerie Black Tom Griffin Royce McGuire Wendy Smandra Brooks Eddie Henley Dawna Mitchell Dave Stafford and Daigle Tina Johnson Gene Moye Margarie Westoh Davis Shannon Klutts Peggy Pavlowich Tina Wrightonnie DeSha Wendi LeBlanc Sandra Robbins Mary Givan Diana Licatino Chad Smith

## I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 10:08 a.m. by detects Jana Daigle.

### II. Roll call

The roll was checked by Diana Licatino and a quorum was seated.

### III. Minutes

February minutes were motioned to be approved by Tina Wright and seconded by Valerie Black. Minutes were unanimously approved.

# IV. Committee Reports

Nominations Committee: Dawna Mitchell has sent out nomination forms to the departments of Ka Adamson (resigned) and Karen Wells (retired) to replace them as Staff Senators. She has gotter replies for nominations to replace them.

Awards Committe: Has set the date for the Staff Awards as November 4th and Human Resource getting a list for them.

Issues Committee: Presented the Procedure for Awarding Performance Excellence Leave. This is requested as a means to recognize an individual employee as accomplished a significant duty or job in an exemplary manner and by so doing there has been a major affect on the department a benefit to the University. This may be doing a major function of the employee's primary job function in an exemplarmanner, completing a major project outside the normal function of the employee's job, or accepting additional responsibilities for an extended period of time. The state allowed 16 hours per project and a total not to exceed 32 hours per year. A hand out was given of and is attached for more information. JoAnn Russell is also working on a form to simplify this request. A motion to accept these procedures was made by Dawna Mitchell and seconded by Tir Wright. Senators approved it unanimously and **it but** presented to Dr. Simmons at the next Executive Committee meeting.